fbpx
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 - 5:00 | Sat - by appointment
  • 1819 N Main Street #9 Spanish Fork, UT 84660
  • (385) 279-4447

Wheelchair Accessibility and Funding Resources

Wheelchair Accessible Vehicle Funding

Steelman Family Foundation – provides grants for families with a wheelchair bound child ages 6-18 to help cover the cost of a vehicle conversion.

www.SteelmanFamilyFoundation.org

Veterans Resources

Compassion Mobility and it’s staff are honored to be able to serve and help our country’s HEROS!

The Veterans’ Administration offers a one-time veterans automobile grant of $21,795.57 for 100% Service Connected Veterans that meet stringent guidelines. Talk to your VA counselor or prosthetics doctor for more information. Veterans who are 100% Service Connected are eligible for two handicap vehicle conversions every four years or one every two years. Veterans that trade their modified vehicle in every two years typically have less out-of-pocket expense getting into a new wheelchair van than a veteran that trades at a later date. The Veterans’ Administration will allow for the purchase of a pre-owned wheelchair van using their depreciation schedule for reimbursement.

Am I eligible for disability benefits from VA?

You may be eligible for disability benefits if you have a disability that’s related to your service (called a service-connected disability) and that includes at least one of the conditions listed below.

At least one of these must be true for you. You have:

  • Loss, or permanent loss of use, of 1 or both feet, or
  • Loss, or permanent loss of use, of 1 or both hands, or
  • Permanent decreased vision in both eyes: 20/200 vision or less in your better eye with glasses, or greater than 20/200 vision but with a visual field defect that has reduced your peripheral vision to 20 degrees or less in your better eye, or
  • A severe burn injury, or
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)

Operation Independence Rebate –  $1000.00 rebate on a new VMI Conversion

Visiting Utah?

The Must-Do ADA Locations & Activities listed below are from https://visitutah.com/plan-your-trip/accessible-utah

Utah’s 26 Scenic Byways, Statewide: www.byways.org
Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge, Brigham City: http://www.fws.gov/refuge/bear_river_migratory_bird_refuge/
Ogden Nature Center: www.ogdennaturecenter.org
George S. Eccles Dinosaur Park, Ogden: www.dinosaurpark.org
Hill Aerospace Museum, Roy/Ogden: www.hill.af.mil/home/hill-aerospace-museum/
Lagoon Amusement Park, Farmington: www.lagoonpark.com/parkInfo/guestPolicies
Provo & Jordan River Parkway / Legacy Parkway Trails:  www.utahmountainbiking.com/trails/provorvr.htm
Utah State Capitol Building, SLC: utahstatecapitol.utah.gov
Foothill Cultural District, SLC: (includes Hogle Zoo, Utah Natural, History Museum, This is the Place Heritage Park, Red Butte Garden, Fort Douglas Museum, Utah Museum of Fine Arts, etc.) www.foothillcd.com
Clark Planetarium & IMAX Theater, SLC: www.clarkplanetarium.org
Discovery Gateway Children’s Museum, SLC: www.discoverygateway.org
Temple Square, SLC: www.visittemplesquare.com
Tracy Aviary, SLC: www.tracyaviary.org
Wheeler Historic Farm, SLC: www.wheelerfarm.com
Living Planet Aquarium, Sandy: www.thelivingplanet.com
Silver Lake Boardwalk, Solitude, Big Cottonwood Canyon: www.climb-utah.com/WM/silver.htm
Utah Olympic Parks, Park City, SLC: http://utaholympiclegacy.com/
Swaner Preserve & Eco Center, Park City: www.swanerecocenter.org
Thousand Peaks Snowmobile Adventures, Park City: www.thousandpeaks.com
Cascade Springs Boardwalk & Trails, West of Heber Valley: www.utahhikinginfo.com/2010/09/cascade-springs.html
Utah Field House of Natural History Museum, Vernal: www.stateparks.utah.gov/parks/field-house
Thanksgiving Point Dinosaur Museum & Gardens, Lehi: www.thanksgivingpoint.com
Moab Canyon Pathway Paved Trails Network: www.discovermoab.com
St. George City Paved Trails Network: http://www.sgcity.org/departments/leisureservices/parks/
[]